Beak> – “>>” 2nd July (Invada)

Two years in the making Geoff Barrow’s side project returns this July with the promise of a more “progressive” record, though it sticks to the recording the band in the room technique of their self titled debut album and only features two overdubs. Early reviews suggest that this is more powerful and diverse record than the band’s debut and that establishes their aesthetic.

Aesop Rock – “Skelethon” 9th July (Rhymesayers)

Aesop Rock is currently readying a new album for release in July this year, after nearly five years without a solo release. It features guest spots from Kimya Dawson (he’s working on a collaborative project with her called Uncluded, too), Rob Sonic, DJ Big Wiz, Allyson Baker of Dirty Ghosts, Hanni El Khatib, and more.

Outer Space – “Akashic Records (Events: 1986 – 1990) 9th July (Spectrum Spools)

John Elliott of kosmiche music revivalists  Emeralds and owner of the brilliant Spectrum Spools label releases his second album under the alias Outer Space. Wire magazine describe the album as “a patchcord nerd’s paradise of analogue electronic sounds, but here he employs them more ambitiously” and “it’s fair to say that this album exercises a much broader volume of synth lore than its predecessor”.

The Alchemist – “Russian Roulette” 16th July (Decon)

The new 30 track heavy album from this veteran underground hip-hop is set to be a guest heavy affair featuring all the undergrounds current darlings – Mayhem Lauren, Action Bronson, Roc Marciano, ScHoolboy Q, Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire and Danny Brown and cast of many others including regular collaborator Evidence. Check out the full tracklisting here.

Nas – “Life Is Good” 16th July (Mercury)

Nas’ 10th studio album is produced by NO I.D. and Saleem Remi with tracks also coming from Swizz Beatz, Buckwild, Heavy D & Da Internz, The J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League & 40. Guest include Mary J. Blige, Rick Ross, Amy Winehouse, Victoria Monet, Anthony Hamilton, Miguel & Large Professor. The many pre-release tracks have whetted the appetite for this album from a hip-hop legend. Check out the full tracklisting here.

Micachu & The Shapes – “Never” 23rd July (Rough Trade) 

The official follow-up to “Jewellery” (2009) comes hot on heels of last year’s collaboration with the London Sinfonietta “Chopped and Screwed”. Early reports suggest the new release will combine new recordings of a couple of tracks from “Chopped and Screwed” including album highlight “Low Dogg” and see the band developing their DIY junk-yard pop with a contrasting heavy undertow that matches its frequently downbeat lyrics.

Laetitia Sadier – “Silencio” 30th July (Drag City)

With Stereolab on hiatus for the foreseeable future (there are rumours of a series of remastered reissues) Sadier continues to develop her solo career in a similar prolific way. Early reviews are glowing and though it seems she hasn’t strayed too far from the Stereolab formula she does impart her on personality on pre-release track “Find Me The Pulse of the Universe”, which you can check out below.