There were no massive disappointments last month so I’ll start by writing about a couple of average albums, then good albums, finishing with the best of the bunch.

First up is Canadian electro goth trio Austra’s – ‘Feel It Break’. This album definitely has its pros and cons; on the one hand its best tracks don’t suffer from being overly reliant on 80’s sounds to get its message across unlike many of their contemporaries. On the downside there’s only a few real stand out tracks and most these have already been out as singles for a while, the rest of the album does seem to be a repetition of their best ideas and by the end this becomes quite warring.

‘Air Museum’ by Mountains proved to be an interesting album, that I believe will need further listening to truly evaluate its quality. However, first impressions are mostly good; the tracks are never boring and seem to have one foot in the modern electro-acoustic/drone music camp and the other recalling early electronica and ambient artists such as Cluster and Kraftwerk. Interesting the tracks that bookend the album are the best and most organic, what occurs in between while good music and at least the equal of the bands contemporaries does raise the question, how much analogue synth music do we need?

The new Thurston Moore album ‘Demolished Thoughts’ is a solid effort that will please both long term fans and those that enjoyed his earlier solo album ‘Trees Outside the Academy’. Unlike previous Moore solo LP’s through this has a different feel, one that has more warmth and invites the listener in courtesy of Beck’s production and Moore’s more focused and tuneful material. Moore’s acoustic guitar blends brilliantly with the strings and Beck use these excellent performances to create space and dynamics using reverbs, echos and occasionally other effects and panning. The album is a lighter and brighter affair than I was expecting and this serves it well, its seems the most appropriate reference point would be ‘And Then Nothing Turned Its Self Inside-Out’  by Yo La Tengo, though this like a littler flip side to that album. In a couple of places the album reminds me of ‘Eureka’ by Sonic Youth associate Jim ‘O Rourke particularly on ‘Space’.

Though White Denim’s – ‘D’ may be not the album of the year I’d rashly predicted at the start of the month, though it has to be said ‘Anvil Everything’ and ‘Drug’ were pretty exciting tracks to be released in the run up to release. However this album is by no means a wash-out, it begins with a slightly misleading slice of Southern Rock but reveals a diverse range from an ever developing and maturing band. From the wah-wah funk of ‘Burnished’ to the emotional ‘Street Joy’ via Latin rhythms of ‘River to Consider’ and many points in between this album is well worth investigation and like other White Denim album will probably prove to be another grown, rewarding repeated listening.

The Beasties Boys return to form after two patchy albums, ‘Hot Sauce Commitee (Part 2)’ is full of short punchy songs that for the most part share a minimalist, lo-fi approach. It’s the Beasties gone back to basics and with found a new lease of life that explores new territory (for them) while remaining 100% Beastie Boys. Established fans with love this, new converts may well join the cause – all in all a triumph from restless creators always looking to evolve.

With ‘GOB’ Dels has produced an authoritative début album that balances catchy, memorable tunes with experimentation, unexpected twists and turns and a signature sound that he can manipulate to give the album an overall curve. He starts with the heavy hitting, bouncy electro inspired tracks but the second half to that album covers more serious topics including the recent political probs. in the U.K. and rape. Dels is able to change the pace and the atmosphere to suit these changes in subject and this is proof of an artist with more than one string to his bow and great future ahead of him. A Hip-Hop artist with substance to match his unique style.

A breathtakingly ambitious album that brings together North African guitars, club beats, Indian pop vocals, grime and electro synth bass, twisted synth arpeggios are all bought together and work where it should fail spectacularly. There’s a new found clarity and a massive step-up in the quality of the tunes on ‘Eye Contact’ this is the record that their last album should have been and impress instant, whereas in the past songs were either growers or too awkward to be properly embraced. An album that gets better with every run through!!

Spotify playlist:

May 2011 playlist

Coming up this month on Sonic Fiction

Sonic Fiction Writer’s Albums of the Year… So Far

Classic’s Critiqued – ‘Emperor Tomato Ketchup’ by Stereolab


* = I’ve already heard this album and this is my initial reaction

Battles – “Gloss Drop” 6th June (Warp) *

As with any Battles release there’s a lot to take in and one listen simply won’t cut it in terms of any real in-depth analysis. However, the overall 1st impressions are good with the band proving they can do great things without former member Tyondai Braxton, who was always seen as a key member of the band. This is still definitely a Battles album but they’ve shed some of the uptight, over thought jazz-prog that had occasionally manifested itself in a frustrating way. This is looser band, a freer band. Drummer John Stanier is able to make his techno influences much more explicit and this and the Carribbean/Latin/Calypso influences that are littered throughout the album add a new rhythmic interest and lightness of touch that are both great new additions to the Battles sound. This isn’t a band trying to play techno or calypso through; rather they are trying to fold these influences into their already established sound. A bold statement from band that could have collapsed but has shown a new strength.

Fink – “Perfect Darkness” 13th June (Ninja Tune)

The new album by Ninja Tune’s troubled troubadour promises much. I’ve only heard the title track and a little of the track ‘Yesterday Was Hard On Us All’ and they are both quite different. The title track is dark and ruminative and defly adds strings to the already established Fink folk sound. The later is closer to the dry and intimate sound of his most recent albums, both tracks have made me very intrigued as to what this album has to offer.

Blanck Mass – “Blanck Mass” 20th June (Rock Action)

This is the first solo album from Benjamin John Power one half of Fuck Buttons and the one pre-release track ‘Land Disasters’ is like a more ambient version of the typical Fuck Buttons sound. It’ll be interesting to hear what else Power has come up with on an album produced completely on a laptop, when compared with Fuck Buttons more lo-fi and hands on sound.

Popol Vuh – “Revisited & Remixed 1970 – 1999” 20th June (SPV)

To mark the 10th anniversary of the passing of Popol Vuh founder Florian Fricke, SPV are releasing a two-disc compilation. Disc one consisted of tracks collected from throughout the band’s life time including those from their famous soundtrack work with Werner Herzog. Disc two contains a series of remixes of the band’s material by the likes of Stereolab, Thomas Fehlmann, Moritz Von Oswald and Mouse on Mars among others. A compilation that will definitely be worth checking out for those new to these under appreciated electronic music pioneers.